Angebote zu "Irish" (40 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The Fourth Island (eBook, ePUB)
2,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Dark, mournful, and beautiful, Sarah Tolmie's The Fourth Island is a moving and unforgettable story of life and death on the hidden Irish island of Inis Caillte. Huddled in the sea off the coast of Ireland is a fourth Aran Island, a secret island peopled by the lost, findable only in moments of despair. Whether drowned at sea, trampled by Cromwell's soldiers, or exiled for clinging to the dead, no outsiders reach the island without giving in to dark emotion.Time and again, The Fourth Island weaves a hypnotic pattern with its prose, presaging doom before walking back through the sweet and sour moments of lives not yet lost. It beautifully melds the certainty of loss with the joys of living, drawing readers under like the tide.At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Irish Stew!
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

And what a stew it is. Here are some of the ingredients: Our heroine, Nuala Anne McGrail, in her guise as international singing star, accompanied by her spear-carrying husband, Dermot Coyne, is off to a major music festival in Milan, where they meet Seamus Costelloe, a Chicago Irish macher, and his family. Seamus is no better than he should be, and in fact the suspicion is that he's very bad indeed, but softhearted Nuala sees the sign of death on him-she hasn't lost her ability to see into the future-and decides to do something about it. She also sees something good in him. Which leads to a few hair-raising conflicts with some of Chicago's more desperate characters. Nuala and Dermot's new baby is premature, and dark clouds hover over their sublimely happy marriage. Meanwhile, Dermot is trying to solve the mystery of Chicago's Haymarket riot, which isn't easy since it happened over a hundred years ago. Only bestselling author Andrew M. Greeley, with his knowledge of Ireland and Chicago's unsavory politics, plus his uncanny ability to combine two stories-one in the present and one in the past-and his talent for building mystery and suspense to an almost unbearable degree, could have written this truly tantalizing novel. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Brendan
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This is the story of Saint Brendan the Navigator, whose legendary quest to find the Isle of the Blessed is one of the most remarkable and enduring early Christian tales. Among Irish saints, Brendan the Navigator is second only to Patrick. Founder of several monasteries, he most famously guided a group of monks on a dangerous journey into the unknown vastness of the ocean on a search for Paradise. Based on the medieval “Life of St Brendan,” Morgan Llywelyn's imaginative retelling of the Christian legend of this most remarkable man is a lyrical and surprising feast for the mind and heart. It is a story of truth and transcendence, and inner strength and daily discipline, a story of love and longing, and a story of towering faith. And of course, miracles. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Rachel Lemoyne
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Rachel LeMoyne, a mixed-blood Choctaw raised in a Presbyterian mission, knows that her calling in 1847 is to travel to Ireland to feed the starving people there with her own people's life-giving surplus corn. But she never expects to find a husband among the hungry and grief-stricken people--especially not a husband considered to be an outlaw. When Rachel and Darragh return to America as husband and wife, a new challenge awaits her: they must flee to escape the authorities still searching for Darragh. But with the Irish, like the Blacks and Indians, deemed 'unfit for liberty,' facing factories posting 'No Irish Need Apply' signs, the only place to go is west to the wild country promised to anyone who can survive the journey. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Angel Light
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

'I do not want ten million dollars. I do not want to visit Ireland. I do not want to end a Tobin family feud. And, above all, I do not want to court my eighth cousin, once removed.' Even as he says the words, 'Toby' Tobin, Irish-American computer hacker, knows it's useless to resist. His late great-uncle's will must be obeyed, and his family is determined to make him respectable by his twenty-fifth birthday. Encouraged by a photo of his cousin, Sara Anne Elizabeth Tobin, with her gorgeous black hair, blue eyes, and pale skin, Toby checks his computer for travel arrangements to Ireland. He finds himself chatting with an unusual travel agent, Raphaella, a very modern angel, who's been surfing the net for someone to look after. Raphaella gives him a new passport and first-class plane tickets out of O'Hare, and the encouragement and good humor he'll need on his quest for a living grail--the beautiful, mysterious, troubled, young Sara Tobin. He must marry Sara within the month (and solve an ancient mystery and elude a threatening thug) in order to claim his inheritance. Angel Light is based on the Book of Tobis in the Old Testament, one of the sweetest love stories ever told. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Sorrows
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Ulster Cycle continues with The Sorrows, three stories that dramatically portray Ireland's cultural heritage. The first, 'The Fate of the Children of Tuirenn,' is a tragic tale in which three brothers must pay a blood fine for murdering an enemy of their clan-a reflection of the great sorrow, which is Ireland's Civil War. 'The Fate of the Children of Ir' tells of an evil stepmother who transforms her four stepchildren into swans. After nine hundred years they are released from their fate, symbolizing the triumph of Christianity over paganism. 'The Fate of the Children of Uisliu' introduces us to Conchobor, the Red Branch King, as he forces the young yet strong-willed Deidre to be his wife-just as England sought to force the Irish into servitude. Filled with adventure and tragedy, The Sorrows provides another insightful look into Ireland's past through three of her most enduring tales. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
An Irish Country Village
8,40 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Patrick Taylor first charmed readers with An Irish Country Doctor, a warm and enchanting novel in the tradition of James Herriot and Jan Karon. Now Taylor returns to the colorful Northern Ireland community of Ballybucklebo, where there’s always something brewing beneath the village’s deceptively sleepy surface. Young Doctor Barry Laverty has only just begun his assistantship under his eccentric mentor, Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly, but he already feels right at home in Ballybucklebo. When the sudden death of a patient casts a cloud over Barry’s reputation, his chances of establishing himself in the village are endangered, especially since the grieving widow is threatening a lawsuit. While he anxiously waits for the postmortem results that he prays will exonerate him, Barry must regain the trust of the gossipy Ulster village, one patient at a time. From a put-upon shop girl with a mysterious rash to the troubled pregnancy of a winsome young lass who’s not quite married yet, Ballybucklebo provides plenty of cases to keep the two country G.P.s busy. Not all their challenges are medical in nature. When a greedy developer sets his sights on the very heart of the community, the village pub, it’s up to the doctors to save the Black Swan (affectionately known to the locals as the “Mucky Duck”) from being turned into an overpriced tourist trap. After all, the good citizens of Ballybucklebo need some place to drink to each other’s health. . . . Whether you’ve visited in the past, or are discovering Ballybucklebo for the first time, An Irish Country Village is an ideal location for anyone looking for wit, warmth, and just a touch of blarney. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
Lavondyss
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A haunting entry in the World Fantasy Award-winning Mythago Cycle In Mythago Wood, Robert Holdstock gave us an intricate world spun from the stories of Irish and English mythology, a great forest steeped in mystery and legend, whose heart contains secrets that will change all who behold them. Young Tallis is one such seeker. When she was just an infant, she lost her brother Harry to Ryhope Wood. Her adolescent fancies now cause her to suspect that he is still alive---and in grave danger. Tallis follows Harry into the primal Otherworld armed only with magic, masks, and clues left by her grandfather. Eventually the primitive forest gives way to Lavondyss itself, a fascinating and terrible realm where she is forced to confront the mythagos, physical manifestations of the legends of humanity's collective unconscious. Join Tallis on her quest into the ultimate unknown, and be invited into one of the finest and most compelling mythologies you will ever encounter. 'A stunningly good book . . . conveys the haunting power of old heroes and lost gods.' --Locus 'Magical . . . It is rare to find a sequel which measures up to its original; but Lavondyss surpasses it.' --Times Literary Supplement At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot
The Raid
7,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Queen Maeve has declared war upon the province of Ulster in an effort to take possession of the Brown Bull of Cooley. Ultimately, this is an attempt to match the wealth of her husband, King Ailill of Connacht, who owns a magnificent white bull. Only Cuchulainn, a boy warrior, stands between Ulster and certain annihilation. Supported by the Morrigan, the goddess of war, he begins a reign of terror upon the Connacht warriors. In his heroic stand, the reader discovers the genesis of the determination of the Irish people, their will to stand alone against oppression. At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 29.10.2020
Zum Angebot